top of page

Blog

Captain's Blog

So a few more weeks have passed by since my previous entry, the ship has really picked up steam as we storm into March just 6 weeks until the event.

I have had the pleasure of meeting some great people over the past few weeks. The inspirational and sometimes heart breaking personal stories as to why you’re getting involved with the event have moved me every time. These stories drive us all to help what we can to make a real difference to Macmillan. I am 100% sure we will break the £10,000 mark, why all the excitement and interest and real money making you guys are doing I know we can do it.

I have had a great meeting this week with the lovely Becky Bainton over at Macmillan; she is the fund raising manager for Macmillan Manchester and is very excited about the event. She has given us access to lots of Macmillan materials which will be great over the next few months.

So raising the titanic are going to be at a huge tattoo convention called Tattoo Tea Party. We will be right next to a huge power lifting competition called tattooed and strong, here’s the action from last year’s event. I even pop up a few times!!

SO we will have a huge stand and be the only fund raising team at the convention. We have some amazing raffle prizes and t shirts for sale, prints of our logo for sale and will even have a few celebrity appearances. We have a small army of volunteers helping us to fund raise over the weekend. Come and join us its Saturday 5th Sunday 6th March 2016. The event is held at Event City Manchester which is just next to the Trafford Centre, free parking, amazing shops and tattoos, huge lifting and meeting our crew what else could you ask for.

Well we also made it onto TV this past few weeks, I think we did ok in interview, I was joined by first mate Peter and we managed to not look too goofy on camera. In case you missed it here’s the video;

Thank you so much to the crew at That’s Manchester TV, you guys were so professional, kind and supportive of the event. You guys are welcome aboard any time.

You may have noticed that we have a few new sections on the website, one is for Bulldogs gym who are running the “Down South” event and who have their eyes set on out lifting us, not going to happen guys!!!! We also have a section set up dedicated to the amazing Royal British Army who are joining us. The guys and girls of the forces who make up Team IMJIN led by Sergeant Kwan Cheung are taking part on Friday 15th of April the day before event to set the marker. Over 200 Army personnel will be donating and lifting for 5 hours. They have been amazing so far and really embraced the challenge. I will be going down to spend a night with the soldiers and then help take part in the event. I can’t wait to share the photos and stories with you lovely lot.

We have had a raft of new sponsors come on board including Bulk Powders, Olympus Health and USN nutrition.

So I am 13 days out of my next competitive powerlifting meet, the huge tattooed and strong. I will be sharing the platform with some mega lifters including Terry Hollands and Andy Bolton.

Training has been going great with two weeks of hitting gym PBS, I even doubled my previous competition personal best for one rep!! I’ve added a little training montage of how it’s all going, hope you like it;

The past week my central nervous system has taken a real hit from some very heavy training sessions and I am now really concentrating on altering my food intake to give me the fuel to train in 100% condition. I have always ate “healthy food” however I have had to really struggle with introducing foods I would have associated with being bad into my diet. The word Carbs is such a bad word on many an internet forum. However I am very quickly learning you can’t drive a Ferrari without fuel. Well even a Morris Minor like me needs fuel. I closely follow a great website on lifting and nutrition called jugger nought strength. Two articles this week really hit home with me and have helped get my eating back on track. You guys training for this mega event will need as much energy as you can to keep lifting so you might get a few tips from reading them, here’s the link’s

http://www.jtsstrength.com/articles/2013/01/24/pr-smashing-nutrition/

http://www.jtsstrength.com/articles/2016/01/04/carbs-the-training-fuel/

So I’ve been a very busy bee, its great and I’m loving every minute of this ride pushing the event into new waters. Wish me look for Tattooed and strong, keep spreading the word of raising the titanic and don’t forget to donate,

Much love, your captain.

Scott

Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page